School of Design Awards for Spring 2021


The School of Design is proud to annouce all of the winners of our 2020-2021 Design Awards. These awards were announced today during our Awards Show as part of Design Week from Spring 2021. The School of Design wants to congratulate all of our students for these awards and all of the hard work they put in during this school year.

kynamatrix Research Network "Innovation through Collaboration" 2020 Grant Awards for projects in design, engineering, and computer science.
The network has been a long-standing supporter of our graduate students, awarding grants to selected thesis projects each year based upon proposals and the goals of kynamatrix.

School of Design Merit Awards
The Merit Awards recognize students in each cohort who have excelled in their work, shown great improvement, helped and supported their classmates. Awardees are selected by School of Design faculty members.

School of Design Service Awards
This award recognizes outstanding leadership and citizenship in the School of Design.

Marilyn Meltzer Award
Marilyn Meltzer is a prominent artist and fiber sculptor whose work is represented in numerous museums and private collections. This award commemorates her lifelong interests by honoring a student who has shown an ability to "combine outstanding design with effective use of color." This prize is open to all full-time (rising) junior students in the School of Design.

Lee Goldman Scholarship Award
This is an endowed fund, set up by Lee Goldman's brother and sister in his memory. Lee Goldman, at one time, not only taught in Design, but Headed the School. His love for design and learning inspired this scholarship, awarded each year to three talented juniors.

Ed Szylinski Award for Blue Sky Thinking
Ed Szylinski graduated from the School of Design in 1968, and established this prize in 2012. This award recognizes a junior Communication Designer who, during the course of the year, demonstrated thinking outside the box in solving a design problem. This award acknowledges that often the most innovative solutions arise from ideas or concepts that are unexpected, unusual or even seem downright crazy at the time, and recognizes the courage and perspective required to propose such a solution, even if it doesn't always prove successful.

Kier Service Design & Social Innovation Award
Established in 2015, this award is now in its seventh year. Established by Ellen Kier, a Design graduate from 1977, the award is given to a Design student who has created a design project that seeks to improve society through service design or social innovation.

Victor Ng Design Impact Award
Victor Ng graduated in 2012, with his CMU Design degree in Communication Design. Grateful for all of the opportunities his education has afforded him, he wanted to boost a student in the way that his awards and scholarships boosted him. This award recognizes first years, sophomores, or juniors "whose work demonstrates a passion for how design can advance social justice, promote equality, and improve the human condition."

University and College Honors
Seniors who have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above will receive University Honors. Seniors who have won a School of Design award at any point during their four years at CMU will receive College Honors.
U = University Honors
C = College Honors

  • Hannah Cai (U)
  • Christine Chen (U)
  • Danny Cho (C)
  • Eunice Choe (U)
  • Daniela Delgado (U & C)
  • Elena Deng (U)
  • Sophia Fan (U)
  • Alice Fang (U & C)
  • Margot Gersing (U & C)
  • Meijie Hu (U & C)
  • Mimi Jiao (U)
  • Jenna Kim (U)
  • Amber Lee (U)
  • Jenni Lee (U & C)
  • Rachel Lee (U)
  • Miranda Luong (U)
  • Nick Marotta (U)
  • Connor McGaffin (U)
  • Julia Nishizaki (U)
  • Eliza Pratt (U)
  • Jaclyn Saik (U & C)
  • Ian Shei (U & C)
  • Thomas Youn (U)
  • Sabrina Zhai (U)
  • Emily Zhou (U & C)
  • Vicky Zhou (U & C)
  • Jason Zhu (U)

Congrats to all of our students for a fantastic year!

Date Published: 
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
  • .